15th Annual Academic Evening

On May 16, the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine welcomed residents, fellows, CRNAs, researchers, and faculty to the 15th Annual Academic Evening at the UW Center for Urban Horticulture. Dr. Jochen D. Muehlschlegel, Associate Professor in Anesthesiology, Harvard Medical School (moving to Johns Hopkins as a Director, effective September 1, 2023) was invited as a guest speaker and poster judge. The event showcased research within the Department over the past year including 74 posters (35 clinical research, 10 clinical case reports, 29 basic science research) and eight “lightning talks” by award nominees.

The top awards were presented to:

  • Daron Vandeleur, MD, “Association of Neighborhood Characteristics and Chronic Pain in Children and Adolescents in the United States“ (Judy Su Clinical Research Award)
  • Eric Zhang, PhD candidate, “Elucidating the Role of Noradrenergic Circuitry in Aversive Contextual Processing” (Judy Su Basic Science Research Award)
  • Ian Johnson, DO, “Low Thoracic Combined Spinal-Epidural Anesthesia for Cesarean Delivery in a Patient with History of Spina Bifida and Tethered Cord” (Best Clinical Case Report).

The evening was chaired by Dr. See Wan Tham, Associate Professor, Pediatric Anesthesiology and coordinated by Leanne Cornel, Program Operations Specialist.