Equity & Inclusion

About Equity & Inclusion in Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine

Meet the Vice Chair for Equity, Diversity & Inclusion and our Diversity Council



“It is a privilege to serve our department as the inaugural Vice Chair for EDI, and I am fortunate to start this work with a committed group of people who believe in advancing equity, diversity, and inclusion to achieve excellence in education, research, and patient care.”


Diversity Council members

Corrie Anderson, Satish Bhagwanjee, Robin Boland, Vanessa Cervantes, Eun J. Choi, Rebecca Dale, Carlos Delgado, Cameron Donald, Katherine Gentry, Matt Hallman, Nathalia Jimenez, Preetma Kooner, Abhijit V. Lele, Sara Nikravan, Bukola Ojo, Murali Sivarajan, Matthew Walker

Associate Council members

Jennifer Chiem, Erica Holland, Aruna Kamath, Maria Khalid, Maeve Muldowney, Fiona Patrao, Tony Roche, Remigio Roque, Angele Theard

Resources and support groups

Engage with the University of Washington community. 

EDI library

Explore articles and recommended reading from our Diversity Council. 

Reporting tools

Any staff member, student, resident, fellow or faculty can formally report incidents of negative biases.

Land acknowledgement

The University of Washington and the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine acknowledge the Coast Salish peoples of this land, the land which touches the shared waters of all tribes and bands within the Duwamish, Suquamish, Tulalip and Muckleshoot nations.