Early history of the department

UW was founded in 1861 as a land grant university

The UW School of Medicine, founded in 1946, partners with Wyoming, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho as the WWAMI educational region.

University of Washington Denny Hall

Lucien Morris, MD, Chief of the Division of Anesthesiology (within Department of Surgery) from 1954 – 1960

Dr. Morris introduced the Copper Kettle vaporizer, the first system to control the concentration of volatile anesthetics.

John Bonica, MD, Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology established in 1960

Dr. Bonica developed the study of pain and pain management, and established our department as a leader in pain medicine.

Thomas Hornbein, MD, Chair of the Department 1978 – 1994 and a prominent high altitude physiologist.

Dr. Hornbein was the part of the first expedition to successfully summit Mount Everest via the West Ridge in 1963.

Frederick Cheney, MD, Chair of the Department until the early 2000s.

An intensivist and expert pulmonary physiologist, Dr. Cheney is a founding member of the ASA Closed Claims Project.

Working to improve health for all

Our mission to improve the health of the public by educating and empowering the next generation of physicians and researchers.

APM excels in patient care, education and research

Our department is renowned for expert clinical practice, inspired education and training programs, and innovative scientific research.

Seattle Children's Hospital